If you’ve just been arrested for harassment in Travis County, you probably have a thousand questions racing through your mind. What can I do now? What is the process? Will I go back to jail?
You need experienced Austin harassment attorneys who understand the Travis County court system inside and out. We zealously represent your rights throughout this process and answer all the questions you have along the way.
Our team has a combined 30+ years of experience helping people charged with harassment in Austin. We will tell you what to expect and how to improve the chances of getting the best result. Having experienced attorneys can make the difference between getting your case dismissed or being convicted.
What is Harassment?
According to the Texas Penal Code, a person commits harassment in Texas if, with intent to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, or embarrass another, they:
Initiate communication and make an obscene comment or request;
Threaten to inflict bodily injury or commit a felony on a person, a member of the person’s family or household, or the person’s property;
Intentionally alarm someone by falsely telling them that another person has suffered death or serious bodily injury;
Anonymously call someone repeatedly or in a manner reasonably likely to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass, or offend them;
Call someone and intentionally fail to hang up or disengage the connection;
Send repeated electronic communications in a manner reasonably likely to harass, annoy, alarm, abuse, torment, embarrass, or offend another; or
Knowingly allow someone to use a phone to commit one of the above offenses.
You can commit harassment in-person, as well as through text, phone call, email, or online communication.
What are the penalties for Harassment?
Harassment is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries the following penalties:
Up to 180 days in jail,
Up to a $2,000 fine,
A prohibition from having a License to Carry a weapon for five years,
The harassment offense may be increased to a Class A misdemeanor if:
The person had a previous harassment conviction;
The person harassed a minor, using an electronic device, with the intent that the child commit suicide or commit serious bodily injury; or
The person harassed a minor, using an electronic device, when the person had previously violated a restraining order or injunction for cyberbullying.
In Texas, a Class A misdemeanor conviction carries heightened penalties:
Up to a year in jail and
Up to a $4,000 fine.
Contact The Law Office of Charlie Roadman to handle your Texas Harassment Case
If you're facing a harassment charge in Texas, hiring a lawyer can be advantageous for several reasons:
- Understanding the Law: Texas harassment laws can be intricate. Our lawyers can explain the nuances of the statutes, possible defenses, and potential outcomes based on the specific facts of your case.
- Expert Advice: Our lawyer can provide guidance on whether to accept a plea deal, go to trial, or pursue other legal options.
- Navigating the Legal System: The legal process involves deadlines, paperwork, and specific protocols. We know how to efficiently move a case through the system and can handle procedural requirements.
- Protection of Rights: Our criminal defense attorneys ensure that your rights are protected throughout the process, including your right to remain silent and your right to a fair trial.
- Negotiation Skills: If there's an opportunity to negotiate with the prosecution (for a lesser charge or a reduced sentence, for example), our experienced lawyers can be invaluable.
- Defense Strategies: Our lawyers have training in constructing a strong defense, gathering evidence, and identifying weaknesses in the prosecution's case.
- Courtroom Experience: If your case goes to trial, our attorneys will know how to present your defense most effectively, including questioning witnesses, introducing evidence, and making persuasive arguments.
WHEN SHOULD I HIRE AN ATTORNEY?
Immediately. An attorney should be working on your case right away. We want to talk to witnesses as soon as possible and protect any evidence that will help the case. Hiring an attorney is also a good way to alleviate the stress and anxiety that comes with being arrested.
CAN A Harassment CHARGE BE DISMISSED?
Yes, but it depends on the circumstances of the arrest and what you are willing to do while the case is pending. We have negotiated hundreds of dismissals in Travis County using our knowledge and experience of what works in Austin. In order to help us get the best result, we will create a customized Action Plan for you.
ONE OF MY FRIENDS/FAMILY WAS ARRESTED FOR harassment. WILL THEY GET OUT OF JAIL AUTOMATICALLY?
No. They must qualify for a personal bond. And even if they do qualify, it can take 24 hours or more to be released. We can speed up the process significantly. And trust us, everyone wants out of jail as soon as possible. HERE IS MORE INFO ON JAIL RELEASES.